top of page
The Bookshop by The Sea series

The Bookshop Detective

Cosy seaside mystery that zips along at a rip roaring pace
"A compelling combination of mystery and humour, with a smattering of romance that will keep you turning the pages long into the night."
Waterstones logo.png

When a ghost ship is spotted on the horizon one spring evening, bookseller Eleanor decides to investigate the myths and legends of Combemouth, the seaside town where she runs The Reading Room. As Eleanor digs deeper into the town’s history, she becomes intrigued by a Victorian crime report and is determined to find out what happened to a boy at the centre of the court case. As she begins to uncover the truth – aided by the vicar but somewhat stalled by the local librarian – she has a challenge on her own horizon.


A book launch, an exploding dress and some salsa-dancing pensioners make this a mystery with a difference.



The setting

I had fun exploring the history of Devon fishing towns like Combemouth to make sure that all the facts were correct.

Don't miss A Summer of Surprises and An Unexpected Affair, book 1 in The Bookshop by The Sea series.
bottom of page